I haven’t been living under a rock. I’ve heard all about the Zimmerman trial and how George Zimmerman was found not guilty for the murder/manslaughter of Treyvon Martin. I’ve seen my Facebook feed blow up. I’ve seen the internet whip itself into an uproar over the conclusion of the most recent act in the circus of real life courtroom drama.

I can’t say I have much of an opinion on the verdict itself. I didn’t follow the case and I don’t have all of the facts. The one thing I know for sure is that Treyvon Martin is dead and that there is nothing that can be said or done to bring him back.

I understand this is a very polarizing verdict. People are outraged that Zimmerman is (potentially) going to walk away without experiencing any consequences for killing an unarmed teenage boy. Others are outraged at the public’s anger at the fact a man exercised his second amendment right and killed an attacker in self-defense.

The thing that disturbs me most about the ordeal is the fact that this death, this tragedy, is being used as leverage. People are trying to push their own agendas and are using this case to do so. People are pushing for control of firearms. Gun owners are pushing back. People are incensed that Zimmerman was found not guilty by a jury of his peers. Others are celebrating the system.

I’m not saying that I don’t have my own opinions or thoughts. But I am keeping them to myself because it really isn’t my place to say anything. It’s one thing to speak my mind on racism and gun control and how accurate a meter of guilt and innocence our court system is. It’s an entirely different matter to put my own spin on events and try to twist them to support a worldview.

I understand the futility of calling for a change in this behavior, as it is the very nature of politics. All I am trying to do is remind people that, whatever they believe, a child is dead and a family is grieving. A man found not guilty in a court of law is reviled across the country and will have to go into hiding. Treyvon Martin, George Zimmerman- these words aren’t symbols for the dangers of profiling or for lack of discretion with a firearm.  These are the names of two humans. Please try to remember that.

