Phew.

It’s been a crazy few days here on my end. I’ve finally finished getting settled in to my new place. As I’ve mentioned before, moving is one of the most stressful things that a person can endure.

Summer has come and gone and I feel as though I’ve gone through a massive period of growth. For the past two months or so I’ve been doing a rather large amount of writing and editing. I’ve written a new short story, almost edited the first draft of one of my books, and am halfway through the second draft of a different book.

I also spent a lot of time with my friend Jack this summer.

But now classes are starting up and all that energy and time has to go into reading dank literature and writing papers. Not that I’m complaining, I’m just saying that I’ve got less time to write.

In fact, I think this semester is going to be the busiest one I’ve ever had. I’ve got to balance schoolwork, my job, Interstellar Fiction, my club responsibilities, and my social life. So I have to be organized. I have to plan everything out.

What I’ve started doing is making a list of things I need to do for the day. It’s really helped me keep track of everything and it is a very satisfying feeling to cross something off. I feel this is a very good habit to get in, as it keeps me from fucking around too much. I mean, fucking around is inevitable, but it helps to have a list to keep you on task.

Another thing that I’ve done is write a list of long term goals for the semester. This is a list that I have put up on the wall, that I look at every day. And yeah, they’re a little lofty, but even if I only knock out half the list, I’ll have succeeded in a very big way.

This is a practice that everyone should get in. Too often do we have a vague sense of what we want to accomplish. We have an idea of what we want to do, but never really know in a concrete way, so we never accomplish anything. These lists are a way to make your goals less amorphous, to make them something that you can actually work toward.

I’m very much looking forward toward this fall. It is going to be a big period of growth and positive change for me. The list I’ve got tacked to the wall makes me sure of it.

