Welp.

The end of November has finally arrived and along with it has come some very big developments.

First, I’d like to take the time to apologize for not posting that often this month, but I’ve been so absorbed in schoolwork and my NaNoWriMo novel that I haven’t had the time to write for the blog. But, I’m quite pleased to say that I have reached my goal of 50,000 words, so I at least have that going for me.

But this post is not going to be about the novel I’ve been working on, since there isn’t a whole lot to say about it at this point. Instead, I want to talk about what has been happening recently in this country, the United States of America. And before you roll your eyes and groan at yet another post about politics, you should know that your very freedom hangs in the balance. And that’s not me being dramatic either, though I am a fan of theatrics.

The Senate has just passed a bill allowing indefinite detention of Americans. What this means is that American citizens can be treated as enemy combatants and can be locked away to rot in Guantanamo Bay without any sort of trial, investigation, or reason. They’re getting away with this because the people do not care.

And if you think that this bill has nothing to do with The Occupy movement, then you’re dead wrong. Don’t be surprised if protestors start disappearing.

I’m sorry to say that this isn’t the only measure the government is taking against the people, either. There’s also SOPA, a measure taken to try to curb online piracy. Basically, what this bill is trying to accomplish is to give the government the right to take down any webpage that has any sort of copyrighted material on it. So if you post copyrighted material on your webpage, or are even suspected of having copyrighted materials on your webpage and the copyright holder finds out, they can have the goverment shut your webpage down.

They want to limit our means of communication. They want to be able to pluck us off the streets and throw us in prison without any due process.

What we must remember is that a country does not just one day become a police state. It is a gradual shift that starts with minor concessions in freedoms that lead to bigger concessions until one day there are no such things as rights. The minor concessions started ten years ago when a single terrorist attack sent a nation into frenzied panic. These are just the start of the major concessions.

If there is one thing to take away from all of it, it is this: Know that the government is no longer of the people, for the people, by the people. It is only to control the people.

Keep an eye on the news, my friends. And not just big media’s version of the news, either. Keep an eye on the blogs and the independents. Keep an eye on the fringe because when things start happening, they’ll be the ones telling the truth. Things are only just beginning.

Just do whatever you can to stay free and remember that the law is not always on your side.

