I know it’s been a little while since I’ve posted here, but that’s only because I’ve been hard at work writing.

National Novel Writing Month is going swimmingly. I’ve had almost no problems keeping up with my word count and there’s still plenty of story to write. The only thing that’s made things difficult is the school work that I also have to do. But I’m handling that as well, like a boss.

I guess I’ll say a few words about the novel I’m writing. It’s tentatively (creatively) titled Ophelia and it’s about a woman named Ophelia who loses her sister and sets out for revenge. I guess something should be said about the setting of this story, as it plays a big part in the development of events and characters.

It’s called Carser City and it is a hell on Earth. It’s grossly overpopulated and filled to the brim with corrupt and brutal policemen, drug addicts driven crazy by lust, and all sorts of crooks and criminals. It is run by an inept and uncaring government, which in turn is manipulated by the criminals.

This is not the first novel that takes place in Carser City. My second novel, A Rat In A Cage, (don’t bother looking for it on Amazon, I’m still working on getting it to draft 2) also takes place in this city and many of the characters and events intersect, though I wouldn’t say that Ophelia is a sequel. I think the best way to describe the relationship between the two books is that they’re cousins. Although Ophelia will definitely clarify some relationships and events from Rat.

In any case, I’m having a lot of fun writing this one and am getting to flex some of my creative muscles. I’m really trying to show the culture of Carser City and all of the different types of people that live there. The only problem is is that if I included everything that I think about, the book will be unbearably long and will take even longer to write.

I hope everyone’s November is going well. If you’re NaNoWriMo-ing, why not tell me how it’s going in the comments?

