So it has been a little over a week since I embarked on my mission to write fifty thousand words by September 6th. My fifty thousand word war.  I have to say, it hasn’t been easy. The first few days, I kept right on pace, pumping out seventeen hundred words a day. Then I missed Thursday and have been spending the rest of the week playing catch up.

I finally got out of the hole today and am back where I should be with 15,200 words. Probably 40% of which will be cut out and altered. Oh well. This isn’t about editing right now. I’m just getting the words out. Getting it all down on paper. The writing process becomes SO much easier once it’s all down on paper.

A first draft is a lump of clay to shape and mold into what you actually want your story to resemble. The first draft is just the general idea of the story. A rough sketch. The blueprints of what the novel become. Nobody’s first draft is amazing.

I must admit, I was thinking of calling it quits when I was in the hole. I wondered what the point was. And the point is that there isn’t really a point. It’s just writing. There’s a good chance that I’ll miss the deadline. Probably by a lot. But even if I do, that’s not gonna stop me from writing. I’m working on a story now. I’ve started the creative process, something that can be stalled but never stopped.

In the same vein, if I make the goal and the story isn’t finished, I’m not gonna stop writing it. I’m gonna go as far as it takes me. Because it’s something that I aim to finish. Because when I finish, I’ll have written a book. A shitty malformed fetus of a book, but a book nonetheless. When I finish writing this book, I’ll have a new lump of clay to work with.

I wish the best of luck to those of you who are doing this along with me. Keep on writing and don’t look back. Not until you’ve finished. I welcome you to tell about your experience thusfar in the comments.

