I thought it would be a nice change of pace to write a post about something other than politics.

So today I’m going to actually talk about writing.

Any asshole can write a book. If you can speak a language fluently, you can write down words until you have around three hundred pages. All it really takes is time and perseverance.

That is what I learned from National Novel Writing Month.

Of course, there are many finer points to writing books that I’ve glossed over because 1: I don’t have enough time to get into describing them all and 2: I’m still in the process of figuring them out for myself.

But, like anything, all you really need to do is practice to get better.

I haven’t been creating much recently, due to laziness, distractions (like this trainwreck of a blog), and scores of other excuses. What I need is a deadline. And because I’m not a big shot writer with publishers breathing down my neck to pump out book after book, my deadline needs to be self-imposed.

So, in the spirit of National Novel Writing Month, which I look forward to this November, I am going to attempt to write a 50,000 word novel within the next thirty days. That gives me until September 6th, the day after Labor Day, to complete this challenge.

I invite anybody who has ever wanted to write a book, who has some half formed idea that they’ve been kicking around their head for the past days, months, years to join me on this challenge.

And don’t give me that bullshit about not having enough time. Fifty thousand words in thirty days is around seventeen hundred words a day. Seventeen hundred words that you’ve made up. You don’t have to do any research. You’re just making up a story for thirty days. And when you finish, you’ll have written a book.

And while anybody has the capability to write a book, few actually follow through and finish. It is quite a feat, even if the contents of the book are rubbish.

So unsheathe your pens, take the offensive in front of your computers, and join the word war. Remember, every word you write is one word closer to 50,000.

I wish you the best of luck.

