I don’t know what it is these days about the news, but I’ve been finding some great articles. Here’s another one that graced my local paper…

Man Courageously Comes Out To Parents

It was just another day for Martha Jones when her son Mark called her up and told her that he had something important to tell her. Little did she know that her entire world would be turned upside down.

“I thought he was in trouble at first, when he said that he needed to see me and my husband, his father, Burt…” said Martha. “He sounded so…serious”

“I knew that I was being a little dramatic, not telling them why I was coming over,” Mark shrugged. “I just needed to tell them in person and didn’t want to risk them leaving or locking me out or something…”

Mark arrived at his childhood home and sat his parents down in the living room. His heart pounded as he prepared to drop a bomb on them, a truth that would shake their relationship to the very core.

“I took Mom’s hand and looked her straight in the eye and told her the truth- that I’m a lesbian. I had no idea what to expect. But even just saying it out loud to them was such a good feeling. It was like a burden was lifted.”

Lesbian and Proud: Mark Jones and Jill Clammunch

However, his parents felt little relief upon hearing their only son’s shocking confession.

“I-I couldn’t believe it when he first said it,” said Martha, dabbing at her eyes with a tissue. “I thought we raised him right. I just don’t…know where we went…wrong…”

“It wasn’t our fault.” Burt added gruffly, putting a hand on his wife’s shoulder. “I’ll bet he learned it from those god-damned movies he’s always watchin’. I tell ya, he sure as hell didn’t learn it from me.” After a pause, he added, “I ain’t no queer.”

Things spiraled out of control from there. A shouting match broke out in the Jones’ living room, with Mark trying to explain and defend his lifestyle, while his parents wondered aloud why their son would do such a thing to them.

“They just don’t get it.” Mark crossed his arms over his chest. “I was born this way. I’ve always sort of noticed girls when they came my way. I mean, I can’t help it…” He smiled wryly and shook his head. “It’s not my fault women are so sexy… Can you blame me?”

“Makes me wanna puke my guts up.” says Mark’s Father. “What kinda lifestyle is that? “

“I guess I’ll never have any grandchildren…” Martha sighed. “It just…breaks my heart. I mean, I’m his mother and will always love my little Marky, but knowing that he’s a…” She hesitated for a moment, but then steeled herself and forced herself to speak, “A lesbian. Changes things… I just wish I had our old Mark back…”

Upon asking him whether he had any regrets, Mark had this to say: “The only thing I regret is not telling them earlier. Do you realize how hard it was sneaking around with girls, keeping up the lie that we were ‘study partners’ or ‘teammates?’” He rolled his eyes. “I just don’t think it’s fair. If they really loved me, they’d just accept me for me.”

“If he thinks this is gonna fly, he’s got another thing coming,” said Burt on his son’s lesbianism. “We’ve already signed him up for a ‘Straight Camp.’ That’ll put him right. I ain’t raisin’ no lesbo, that’s for sure.”